Envy of None (featuring Rush’s Alex Lifeson) releases debut album (listen)

Out Now: Envy of None, ft. Rush’s Alex Lifeson releases self-titled debut album (Listen)

Alex Lifeson and Envy of None (Photo credits: Troy William Dunn, Richard Sibbald and Jaden D)

Desire for nothing is the brand new musical project featuring guitarist Alex Lifesonknown to the world for years as the guitarist of Canadian prog-rock heroes Rush — and today, April 8, the band release their self-titled debut album.

The band announced their arrival in January with the premiere of “Liar,” featuring Lifeson and bandmates Andy Curran (Coney Hatch), producer/engineer Alfio Annibalini and vocalist Maiah Wynne as a cohesive unit:

A video of “Look Inside” was also recently shared ahead of the album launch:

Click here to pick up Desire for nothing on CD from our Rock Cellar store
Click here to pick up Desire for nothing on LP from our Rock Cellar shop

Envy of None also detailed a special effort to help Ukraine during the current conflict with Russia:

Lifeson was drawn to the Envy of None project, he said in a statement, thanks to the dynamic presence of Maiah Wynne:

“Maiah has become my muse. She was able to bring this whole new ethereal thing through her sense of melody on tracks like Liar and Look Inside. After hearing her voice on Never Said I Love You, I felt so excited. I’ve never had that kind of inspiration working with another musician. When we say she’s special, it’s because she’s really fucking special!”4

“One of my favorite things about these songs is their intimacy,” Wynne added. “It makes them feel different and more honest. There are also heavier songs, like Enemy, and then tracks like Kabul Blues, which sound completely different from everything else.

With Envy of None fully launched into the world, stay tuned for more to see what Lifeson and his exciting new project are up to in the months to come!

And catch a special livestream event on Monday, April 10:

The track list of Envy of None’s debut album:

1. I never said I love you
2. Shadow
3. Look inside
4. Liar
5. Spy House
6. The Dog’s Life
7. Kabul Blues
8. Old Strings
9. Mute
10. Enemy
11. Western Sunset

Full list of band and album personnel:

Alf Annibalini – Guitar, keyboards, programming
Andy Curran – Bass Guitar, Synth Bass, Programming, Guitar, Background Vocals, Stylophone
Alex Lifeson – Guitar, Mandola, Banjo, Programming
Maiah Wynne – Lead Vocals, Background Vocals, Keyboards

Stream the album below.

Comments are closed.