Original Rolling Stones Debut Album Recreated By Hollis Brown, Release 2/4

Hollis BrownThe upcoming ‘In The Aftermath’ album is the deliciously depraved result of a rock n ‘roll riot that lasted all night. The New York-based Queens quintet fled to the Poconos to record with a few handfuls of whiskey and, in one 24-hour session, went through Stone’s first album of all originals, “Aftermath” of 1966. Recorded live in the studio with minimal overdubs, ‘In The Aftermath’ is powerful proof that the five-piece group is one of America’s last great rock n ‘roll bands. The album will be released on February 4 via Mascot Label Group / Cool Green Recordings.

“It was a whirlwind recording session – we weren’t sleeping and we were getting drunk. You can certainly hear the release of that last track, “Going Home,” recalls singer-guitarist Mike Montali with a laugh. He continues, “We weren’t focused on cleanliness, we were looking for a feeling. “

On the heels of their most successful studio album to date – Ozone Park of 2019, which received rave reviews from Rolling Stone, Billboard, Paste Magazine, Pop Matters, Relix and Goldmine – “In The Aftermath” was an artistic staple. for Hollis Brun. Previously, Hollis Brown posted “Gets Loaded”, hailing “Loaded” from Velvet Underground. The five-piece group enjoyed making the VU album so much that they started joking about a “Hollis Brown Presents…” series, spanning training records in their artistic continuum.

‘Aftermath’ became the Stones’ album to delve into for a myriad of reasons. On the one hand, it has become a sort of lost classic as it is the first album to contain all of the Stones’ originals, including the defining track, “Paint It Black”. Additionally, many of the songs are concise, ultra-catchy rock n ‘roll rave-ups that draw blues and country roots similar to the iconic Hollis Brown aesthetic.

Still, on ‘In The Aftermath’, Hollis Brown doesn’t try to outdo the Stones. Instead, they find clever ways to salute the legacy of the Stones. For the album’s first single, “Under My Thumb”, they distilled the track into a lean and mean punk growl inspired by the album “Some Girls”. Hollis Brown delivers a faithful reading of “Dontcha Bother Me” filled with Muddy Waters-approved slide guitar, bubbling vocals and lonely harmonica. The guys bravely take on “Paint It Black” and harness the song’s eerie power by swapping its classic world music perspective for a muscular guitar-rock approach. Here the drums are reduced to an infectious garage-rock beat that harmonizes perfectly with the beefy guitar riff.

Hollis Brown has amassed an engaged fan base through tireless tours, weaving his way through the United States and Europe, both on his own and by supporting Citizen Cope, Counting Crows, Jackie Greene, Jesse Malin and the Zombies, among others. The guys pinched the group’s name from Bob Dylan’s song, “Ballad of Hollis Brown,” and the nickname perfectly embodies the group’s commitment to merging a signature Americana mix with one beautiful song. Hollis Brown will perform selected sets from ‘In The Aftermath’ on her upcoming tour in February and March – and the inspiration from the album’s freewheeling recording sessions will certainly have an impact on the band’s next album of all. originals which is mainly written.

“Making this record sent us back to the drawing board,” reveals Mike. “It was about getting back to the essence of American roots music – blues and country – which is a tradition our band was founded on.”

Stay tuned for continued updates.

“In the suites” by Hollis Brown
1. Paint it black
2. Stupid girl
3. Dame Jeanne
4. Under my thumb
5. Doncha bothers me
6. Think
7. Flight 505
8. High and dry
9. It’s not easy
10. I’m waiting
11. Go home

Comments are closed.